Sweets and Smiles: A Pair of Pairs

Books

Last week, I wrote about The Selection. Well, the next two books in the trilogy were at the local library branch, waiting for me. So, I checked them both out and proceeded to read both of them in 16 hours (to be fair, it was an otherwise very boring 16 hours of bus riding and waiting around).

How were they? I laughed, I cried, I threw the book against the wall (or at least considered it). I lamented the lack of communication that everyone was suffering from and wandered why exactly our heroine kept doing the things she was doing. I appreciated the story–light for the most part, loose ends tie up, no flat and static characters. All good things!

Beauty

In this last week, I have found two awesome resources for skin care. For those of you unfamiliar with Reddit, yes: it looks like spam (it’s not), it’s not intuitive, and it’s kind of ugly. I know. But, it can be a great resource once you understand it. There are many communities on Reddit (called subreddits) that revolve around beauty (and pretty much any other topic you can think of). I have found two very helpful: /r/SkincareAddiction and /r/AsianBeauty.

Skincare Addiction is a great source for what you should be putting on your face to make it happy and for understanding what’s wrong with your routine. There are even recommended routines. I would recommend checking out the sidebar (on the right) for all of the linked pages. Asian Beauty is both about the products and the philosophy. There are tons of reviews and promises of better formulated-sunscreens on that forum, so I am researching πŸ™‚

What’s on your bookshelf? In your beauty routine? Tell us in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Sweets and Smiles: A Pair of Pairs

  1. suburbansmalltown says:

    I found my beauty routine after years of struggling with oily skin or acne. I realized there is one brand my skin responds well to, so that’s what I use. It’s so hard to find what works for you so hopefully those new sites you found can give you a good idea!

    • Mariana says:

      CeraVe is currently my go-to. This week, I just found out about dehydrated skin and I have been slathering creams on my oily/dehydrated skin. It’s been working out so far πŸ™‚
      What’s your go-to brand?

Drop a Line...

