Sweets and Smiles: Donuts, Decor, and Delight(ed Anticipation)

Hello, ladies!

This week I got to have some most delicious filhos–for the uninitiated, they are lemony, Portuguese donuts. My grandma makes five pounds of dough (which really means that she uses five pounds of flour) and that probably makes a hundred. Her mother used to use fifteen pounds of flour–a sight I don’t think I’d be able to comprehend. They were delicious and my allotted sweet for the week, before I made the decision to press on to overall health.

I also must direct you to Kelly Toups and her piece on Decorating Like a Dietitian–it’s so bright and colorful. It’s a treat in its own right.  Also, speaking of treats, you should check out her Instagram (whether you use it or not–I don’t). It’s totally gorgeous and inspiring. The food–just swoon!

Finally, my local library recently got a copy of Death by Food Pyramid,! It’s by the incredibly intelligent Denise Minger at Raw Foods SOS. I am super excited to get my hands on it–I placed my hold and everything! I’ll be reporting back on my findings 🙂 I just have to wait my place in line.

What made you smile this week? Drop a line in the comments!

Drop a Line...

