Sweets and Smiles: The Sweets Challenge, Week 1

jelly-donuts-unsplash

Good morning, everyone!

For a full week, I have been cutting added sugar as best I can. It’s been more difficult than I expected: trying to figure out what to do with friends instead of getting ice cream or chai, not being able to try cookies my sister made, and especially no ice cream!

But it’s not all bad–I have definitely seen the far-reaching impact of sugar on my life. Everything from favorite snacks to social activities is affected by it.

Also, I made a delicious lemon pound cake for a birthday yesterday (I followed the recipe except I cut the lemon and vanilla extracts and replaced them with lemon zest. Two teaspoons of lemon zest replaced one teaspoon of lemon extract, for those of you interested in the substitution). If you make it, don’t forget the hot lemon syrup–it makes the cake!

As for the challenge, I think I will allow myself some honey to make honey-lemon tea with cinnamon, because that is my favorite cure for a sore throat. This is medicinal, I swear 😉

Following along at home? How is your month of busting sweets going? Tell us in the comments!

One thought on “Sweets and Smiles: The Sweets Challenge, Week 1

  1. Christina Moore says:

    I’ll give you the honey! And I hope you feel better fast. I took the same challenge and it actually wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. However, I totally failed yesterday when I made gingerbread cookies at my youngest’s request. I did eat cookies. I’m ready for another week of not added sugar though. Looking forward to it. Part of the trick is to enjoy the food I am eating, that way I don’t feel like I’m depriving myself. Oh and the ginger for the gingerbread cookies fits in nicely with your blog on ginger. I love the synchronicity.

Drop a Line...

