Review: Human, the Fitness App

This month is going to be a lot about exercise, but my favorite thing is walking. Or any everyday activity. There really is something to just staying active all day–walking to the store or down the street, an impromptu dance party with friends, or the task of shopping.

A real doctor has found that walking really does help–in fact, 30 minutes a day is the minimum recommended dose, as he puts it. Getting half an hour of activity from just being out and about–walking, running, cycling, and dancing–is enough to improve your health. Just watch this awesome video below.

If you are psyched to start tracking your daily activity, there is an app for that. It’s called Human, and I am kind of in love with it.

While Cody is a great app for tracking workouts, Human is the all-day activity equivalent. Human taps into your phone (or iTouch) sensors to get an idea of where you are, how fast you are moving, and how long you are moving. It requires that your location services be on all the time, but in my experience, it has not been absolutely terrible on the battery, though I have started charging nightly, just in case.

Human cheers you on all day as you work toward your Daily 30, 60, or even 90 minutes of activity. It’s very inspirational for me–I go out of my way to take a little walk at lunch, take an extra lap around the store, or go for a real walk before dinner. It’s an awesome tool. My only complaint? There isn’t a badge for 120 minutes (but, hey, I’ve only done that once so far–I am working on it, though).

I totally recommend Human–five out of five! Use it to get out, get inspired, and get active!

Interested? Download Human! Already have it? Tell us what you think in the comments!

Drop a Line...

