Sweets and Smiles: Perfume

Hello!

This week, I meant to look at black dresses, but things came up.

Like perfume. Last week, I found a tutorial, and this week, I’m hooked. The idea of making my own perfume has totally captured my imagination. It might have something to do with the horrifying smell of the Zoology class I am currently taking–hello, dissecting kit–but I prefer to dwell on other reasons. Being able to DIY perfume is great since it means that I can get exactly what I want, and I get to be creative while making it. Double-win!

I’ve always loved the idea of a signature scent–but then, I believe that having a signature look or uniform would be lovely and I think love letters should smell nice, so maybe it’s just me. There is just something dreamy about having a scent, a bit of your beauty ritual, that is always associated with you.

This daydream is kind of strange, for me at least, since most perfumes and colognes give me a headache. Go figure. But, ever since middle school (back when 20 was unimaginably old–oh, my), I’ve been trying my hand at this fragrance business. Rubbing orange peels on the inside of my wrists. Or rosemary. Or mint.

But now, I know how to make the real deal.

First, a huge revelation for me: eau de something (whether cologne or parfum) isn’t the only option. There is such a thing as perfume oil! Perfect for me, with my sensitive nose that is not so crazy about the scent of evaporating alcohol. All you need is some carrier oil, bottles, and essential oil. They sell that stuff at Whole Foods–except for the little, bitty bottles.

This coming week, after lots of research and awkward sniffing of tester bottles at various health foods stores, I am going to take the plunge and invest in some essential oils–just the little 5 mL bottles. On my list are sweet orange, clove bud, and vanilla (if I can afford it). I am super excited 🙂

I thought I’d leave you with some of the tutorials I’ve looked at.

1. A tutorial from Design*Sponge, with some perfume recipes included in the deal.

2. A tutorial by the lady behind Sweet Anthem Perfumes.

3. Another tutorial from Sweet Tea Apothecary for making solid perfume.

Have a lovely week!

What captured your imagination this week? Tell us in the comments!

Drop a Line...

