When Knowing Isn’t Enough

(Photo: Tasty Food in Abundance in Healthy Europe; Courtesy epSos.de/Flicker Creative Commons)

Eating healthy takes time, energy, and know-how. Sometimes, it just doesn’t seem worthwhile. It is, though–it’ll protect your health and your looks, which I found was more motivating for me. (Photo: Tasty Food in Abundance in Healthy Europe; Courtesy epSos.de/Flicker Creative Commons)

After years of loudly explaining to my family just how bad for you skim milk can be–oxidized cholesterol from powered milk and the inherent problems with conventional milk, for instance–my mom decided to get whole milk from grass-fed cows.

Hear that? That is the sound of ten thousand angels singing, “Finally!”

Since I first found out about the evils of skim milk (here is a nice round-up of articles–check out articles 2, 3, and 4), I have off and on quit it. It wasn’t until a little earlier this year when doing some research for this blog that my (skim) milk drinking habit truly started to taper off.

But before then? Well, I knew that skim milk was bad, or at least it was undesirable. But I didn’t change my ways.  First, I don’t buy groceries–as a 14-year-old without a job, that would have been difficult when I first learned about this. But, more importantly, change is difficult. Sometimes water seems too boring or you really want to have cereal, and the correlation with increased cholesterol doesn’t really seem that important.

So, what if you are like (an earlier-this-year) me and it isn’t that you are missing an iron will, but rather that you just don’t see the immediacy in all of this? What if knowing just isn’t enough? I, of course, find that the more reading I do, the better. The more well-armed with information that I am, the more likely I am to make the right choice.

We all know that knowledge is power, and that most important decisions aren’t made in a snap. You won’t (or didn’t) decide where to go to college in a single day. It is a choice based on what you knew about the college beforehand, mail and information that they send you (oh, the endless mail–both physical and electronic. So, high school sophomores: brace yourselves, college mailers are coming), a visiting day maybe, and the kind of programs they have for your interests.

I think it is a matter of what you know–for one person, knowing that eating differently can decrease the risk of heart disease is enough and for someone else, just knowing that a diet change can lead to better sleep is that motivating force.

So, keep reading. My mission for this blog is to give you the information you need to make the best choices you can. Of course, Pretty Healthy isn’t an island–there are the books I have reviewed so far and bunches of other blogs. My two favorites in the “Aspiring Dietitians” category are Chronicles of an Almost RD and Katielean. There is also The Muffin Myth, which focuses on vegetarian recipes and nutrition news (like the kind you will find here and Love and Lemons, a food blog which I just recently started following because, wow, what photographs!

Remember: if you want to make a change, you need motivation that, you know, actually works for you–whatever it is. So keep reading (and not just this blog)! The more informed you are about your health, what affects it, and how to cook something delicious and healthy, the more likely you are to take that step.

What motivates you to make healthy choices? Tell us in the comments!

One thought on “When Knowing Isn’t Enough

  1. jrrose80 says:

    It would definitely have to be my 3 year old daughter. I want her to not only be healthy, but have a healthy self image, and I don’t want her to associate food with her emotions. For moms, whose mothers did a number on them, and so on, it’s an important cycle to break!

Drop a Line...

