Up For a Challenge?

It all started when I went to Yosemite. I stopped running. High elevation (I live at 100 feet above sea level), 100 degree weather, and all day hikes conspired against it. But my gosh, was running an easy habit to break. Then I was in Germany, and between all the walking, swimming, and biking, I didn’t run there, either. Four weeks back stateside, and I still haven’t tightened those laces.

School has started, I am settling into my schedule, and it is time for me to get back on the horse (or in the shoes?). And to get back at it, I am going to start with planks. Wait, what? Planks?! you ask. Why are you starting with planks? Doesn’t running make more sense?

Well, yes, running might make more sense, but one of my personal goals is being able to hold a plank for 5 minutes. And there is a 30 day challenge for it and everything (if only I had started on the first of September–then it could have been a cool monthly thing, but alas).

30 day plank challenge

Three hundred seconds? If I can just stick with it, I can get to five minutes in a month from now. I’d like to extend and invitation to all you lovely people to join me for two reasons.

First, because achieving something like this can help to boost self-esteem. Just like making your bed is important, if you can spare (up to) five minutes in the morning to take care of your body, think of what you will feel like accomplishing in the rest of the day.

Second, planks are awesome. I could use technical jargon and talk about all the muscles used in a proper plank, or I can show you a picture.

plank muscles worked

As this photo is so often captioned, this is why we plank.

So, today, next time you have a free 20 seconds, do a plank (with good form!). Here’s how (read: no excuses for either of us :))

Wanna join me? Leave a comment below to help in holding yourself accountable 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Up For a Challenge?

  1. Sally says:

    Planks are something I’ve never been able to do well so I’m not sure I can hold one for a whole minute let alone 5! I have done the 30 day squat challenge before though and I can tell you it really helped me tone my lower half and it was surprisingly fun too. Hope you manage to reach your personal planking goal!

  2. Loony says:

    I’m in!! If I survive, I might try some of the variations for another month. My muscles hurt just thinking about it but I’m excited to see if I can do it!

  3. Saana says:

    For some people it’s difficult to get started just because they can’t hold the correct position. I don’t know if this is a good trick or not, never tried, but I just read somewhere that you can put a gym stick inside your shirt on the backside, going the same way as your spine, and it will help you to find the correct position. I don’t know what would be the professional point of view about this trick, but it could make sense if you’re beginner and find it difficult to start! Another trick that I have used myself (again not sure if it’s true), is to cross your hands instead of holding your palms against the floor. This would be more efficient for your back muscles. Anyway, I could take this challenge, even though I’m a bit late but I guess it doesn’t matter when you start.

    • Mariana says:

      Those sound like some interesting techniques–I am lucky because I have a full length mirror to check my form in.
      And, nope, it doesn’t matter at all when you start–all that matters is that you made that decision to get a little bit fitter, one step at a time. Best of luck on your challenge!

Drop a Line...

